Whale Facts

  • There are currently 79 confirmed species of whales.
  • Whales are brok into two classifications, toothed whales and baleen whales.
  • The largest whale in the species is the Blue Whale, estimated to reach up to 115ft.
  • The smallest in the species is the Pygmy Sperm Whale, estimated at about 11ft.
  • Whales inhabit about 3-135 of our world’s oceans.
  • After the 20th century the whale population has greatly decreased due to commercial whaling, which has now put them on the endangered species list.
  • Whales breath through an opening on top of their head known as a blow hole. Toothed whales have one blow hole where as Baleen whales have two.
  • Most whales communicate through clicks and moans, but such whales as the Humpback whale communicate through melodic tunes known as whale songs.
  • Male whales are known as bulls, females as cows, and baby whales are known as calves.
  • Whales are not monogamous creatures taking on many partners throughout mating season.
  • Whales are capable of many feelings such as scheming and grieving.
  • Whales are capable of teaching, learning and cooperatively ¬†working together in a herd situation.
  • Much like wild dolphins, whales can not enter into a full restful sleep in order to prevent drowning. They are able to shut down half their brains throughout the day at all times resting in a wakeful sense.
  • A Humpback whale has been estimated to live up to 77yrs., some studies show that a whale can reach up to 130yrs. in their life-span.
  • A whale’s diet can consist of small animals such as krill up to larger aquatic animals, such as squid.


  • Whaling was started for the uses of meat and whale blubber, which is used for oil.
  • Whaling started as early as 3,00BC
  • Industrialized whaling began around the 17th century
  • Competitive whaling somewhere in the 18th century
  • And Whale Harvesting somewhere in the 20th century
  • Whaling has all but ended except for a few of the world’s countries…

  1. Japan
  2. Canada
  3. Faroe Islands
  4. Greenland
  5. Iceland
  6. Indonesia
  7. Norway
  8. Russia
  • The IWC (International Whaling Commission) voted on July 23,1982 to establish a whale moratorium on commercial whaling, banning it. The countries listed above refuse to acknowledge it and still slaughter whales today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *